Charter Commission


The Charter Commission's function is to continue to study the local charter and government. A complete and active Charter Commission is required by state law and Wayzata's Charter. It is essential to the process of revising, updating and amending the City's Charter. The Commission meets annually or as necessary.

Preferred candidates will have a background and interest in how local governments operate. After an application and interview process with the Wayzata City Council, the Council suggests eligible nominees to the District Court for consideration. The Chief Judge appoints new members every two years. The Commission is comprised of between seven and fifteen members who serve four-year terms. Commissioners must be a qualified voter of the City.


  • Dan Day, Chair
  • Mary Fadden, Vice Chair
  • Elaine Ambrose
  • Brian Botham
  • Kent Howe
  • Paul Klapprich
  • Graciela Gonzalez

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes